Rodgers Wins MVP

Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay PackersI know that no one really wants to look back on what could qualify as the worst loss in Green Bay Packers history, but now that we’ve had over a week to put the loss to the Seattle Seahawks in perspective, I’m ready to talk about the game and move on.

Probably the biggest reason why this game will be difficult for most to get over is that there isn’t one play to look at to why the Packers lost, there’s about eight. Whether it’s Morgan Burnett sliding with open field in front of him, Ha Ha Clinton-Dix failing to cover a Hail Mary two-point conversion, or Brandon Bostick going for the ball instead of doing his job, neither play is more responsible for the loss than another.

There are about five other plays we could look at, but it would be pointless. The game is in the past and gone, so now we have to look forward to the 2015 season.

But first, the NFL Honors took place this past weekend, and it was actually really good. Seth Myers hosted the event and with the past season the NFL just had, there were dozens of punchlines available to him.

New York Giants’ receiver Odell Beckham Jr. won the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year award, and St. Louis Rams’ defensive lineman Aaron Donald won the AP Defensive Rookie of the Year award. Dallas Cowboys’ running back DeMarco Murray won the AP Offensive Player of the Year award, and Houston Texans’ defensive lineman J.J. Watt was a unanimous decision for the AP Defensive Player of the Year award.

Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay PackersThe last award of the night was given to Packers’ quarterback Aaron Rodgers for the NFL MVP. It was the second time in Rodgers’ career that he won the award and it was definitely well deserved.

In the 2014 season, Rodgers passed for 4,381 yards and 38 touchdowns. He had a quarterback rating of 112.2 which is second best in his career, only trailing his NFL record of 122.5 back in 2011.

Rodgers received 31 of 50 votes and Watt placed second with 13. No other player received more than two votes.

Rodgers also won the FedEx Air Player of the Year, and the GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year for his week six two minute drive and touchdown pass to tight end Andrew Quarless with three seconds left on the clock.

Looking back, this season was filled with memorable moments just like the week six comeback. Rodgers’ R-E-L-A-X speech before playing a perfect game against the Chicago Bears, Rodgers’ six touchdown first half in the Packers second game against the Bears. Defeating the New England Patriots in the first Brady vs. Rodgers matchup, Rodgers coming back from injury to defeat the Detroit Lions in week 17, and finally, the comeback against the Cowboys in the divisional playoffs to finish the season undefeated at Lambeau.

These are just a few of many memorable games in 2014, proving that this season does not have to be defined by the late collapse against the Seahawks.

The Packers were as close as it gets to the Super Bowl this year and fans should feel confident that as long as Rodgers is leading this team, they’ll be contenders every year. The Packers are always planning for the future, so this team will only get better. They are young and I believe that the experience gained in 2014 will motivate them and not loom.

Here’s to 2015 and Super Bowl L! (50)


One thought on “Rodgers Wins MVP

  1. Had the Texans made it to the playoffs they would have gave it to Watt. I’m a little surprised that they didn’t give it to him anyway. Not because I thought he deserved it over Aaron (although I think that’s slightly arguable), but because it just feels like it’s time to give it to someone on Defense.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s